FullSizeRender (10)My name is Chandler Powell. I am from Seffner, Florida and have been wakeboarding since I was 12 years old. Currently I am living in Orlando attending the University of Central Florida.

When I was 4 years old, I actually picked up skateboarding. I was too small to even flip the board so I would primarily stick to halfpipes and bowls. At one point I was sponsored by Powell Skateboards (which had no affiliation with my name), Airwalk Shoes, and the local skate shop by my house.

When I was 12 years old, I discovered that McCormick’s Cable Park was right around the corner from my house. As soon as I learned how to ride, I was hooked. I remember my parents would drop me at the cable in the morning and pick me up in the evening after a full day of riding. I’m pretty sure I spent more time out on the water than anyone in the world that first summer! I improved my riding tremendously. I remember the operators would give me a list of tricks that I had to complete each day.

After a couple videos and sponsors, I began to compete as a pro at the age of 15. Competitions opened up a whole new world for me. I started out travelling the country and then began to travel the world. In my first year of travelling I went to China, Abu Dhabi, Philippines, Australia and Thailand. After that I fell in love with travelling. It was an amazing opportunity to do what I love and see the world while doing it.

I am currently attending the University of Central Florida majoring in Marketing with a minor in International Business. Balancing wakeboading and school is challenging but it will pay off in the long run.

I cannot wait to see where wakeboading will take me in the future. Even though I cannot wakeboard forever, I intend to make the most out of it while I can!

Chandler Poster 2

Chandler Poster 1